Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Four to five times each academic year, Shared Learning presents experts from academia, journalism, and other professions who give talks geared towards a literate adult audience. These are free and open to the public. In January and March, they will be held on the 4th Thursday of the month at our NEW location, Christ United Methodist Church, in Southern Village.  The times have been somewhat fluid and are shown below next to each scheduled talk.  The lectures are roughly 45 minutes followed by another 45 minute question period.  The schedule for the current year:

Friday, September 28, 2018 at 11: 00 a.m.:

Jack Matlock, Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to Russia (1987-1991),  Russia Policy: What is it? What Should it Be?

Friday, October 26, 2018 at 11:00 a.m.:

Rob Christensen, political columnist, formerly chief political reporter for the News and Observer, and expert on North Carolina politics, will speak on “North Carolina Politics: Today and Tomorrow” focusing on the upcoming 2018 elections for state and congressional offices.

Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 11:15 a.m.:

Gerhard Weinberg, UNC Professor Emeritus of History, renowned scholar on Nazi Germany and World War II.  Dr. Weinberg will speak on “Ending Germany’s Democracy and Establishing Hitler’s Dictatorship.”

February 2019: No Lecture

Thursday, March 28, 2019 at 11:15 a.m.:

Eric M. Meyers, The Bernice & Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies, Trinity College of Duke University, speaking on “Holy Land Archaeology: Where the Past Meets the Present.”


Some speakers we had last year (2017-2018) were:

Jonathan D. Weiler, Director of Undergraduate Studies at UNCCH and a faculty member in the Curriculum in Global Studies. Title: “The Center Is Not Holding: the Nature and Origins of our Political Divide”

W. Robert Pearson, retired Director General of the United States Foreign Service who previously served as U.S. Ambassador to Turkey and had several other posts in the Foreign Service. Title: “Islam & Democracy: Can they Co-exist?”

William Ferris, The Joel R. Williamson Eminent Professor of History at UNC and Senior Associate Director, Center for Study of the American South Title: “The Storied South: Voices of Writers and Artists”

Other recent lecturers include many UNC and Duke faculty including Daniel Ariely; Gene Nichol; William Leuchtenberg; Richard Kohn; Klaus Steiner and  James Stinson.